PGA Tour

Olympic Tracker: The Road to Rio

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Though golf may be unfamiliar to the Olympics, the names of the golfers who will be headed to Rio de Janeiro in August certainly are not.

With golf returning to the Olympic Games this year for the first time in more than 100 years, top names such as Jordan Spieth, Jason Day and Rory McIlroy are sitting atop the rankings. The fields, which will include 60 men and 60 women, will be finalized in July and will be based on the Official World Golf Ranking (men) and Rolex Rankings (women).

A country can have up to four players in Rio under the condition that all of them are in the top 15. The rest of the field will be determined using the world rankings, with a two-player maximum from each country that didn’t have more than two players in the top 15.

Host Brazil is guaranteed at least one male and female player.


Rank Player Country
1 Jason Day< Australia
2 Jordan Spieth United States
3 Rory McIlroy Ireland
4 Bubba Watson United States
5 Rickie Fowler United States
6 Adam Scott Australia
7 Henrik Stenson Sweden
8 Justin Rose Great Britain
9 Dustin Johnson United States
10 Louis Oosthuizen South Africa
11 Danny Willet Great Britain
12 Branden Grace South Africa Hideki Matsuyama Japan
13 Hideki Matsuyama Japan Sergio Garcia Spain
14 Sergio Garcia Spain
15 Byeong-Hun An South Korea
16 Shane Lowry Ireland
17 Emiliano Grillo Argentina
18 Rafa Cabrera Bello Spain
19 Kiradech Aphibarnrat Thailand
20 Danny Lee New Zealand
21 Bernd Wiesberger Austria
22 Thongchai Jaidee Thailand
23 David Lingmerth Sweden
24 Soren Kjeldsen Denmark
25 Victor Dubuisson France Martin Kaymer Germany
26 Martin Kaymer Germany
27 Anirban Lahiri India
28 Thomas Pieters Belgium
29 Fabian Gomez Argentina
30 Thorbjorn Olesen Denmark
31 K.T. Kim South Korea
32 Shingo Katayama Japan
33 Joost Luiten Netherlands
34 Francesco Molinari Italy
35 Ricardo Gouveia Portugal
36 Alexander Levy France
37 Miguel Tabuena Phillipines
38 Graham DeLaet Canada
39 Alex Cejka Germany
40 David Hearn Canada
41 SSP Chawrasia India
42 Ryan Fox New Zealand Fabrizio Zanotti Paraguay
43 Fabrizio Zanotti Paraguay
44 WC Liang China
45 Mikko Ilonen Finland
46 Wu Ashun China
47 Brendon de Jonge Zimbabwe
48 Camilo Villegas Colombia
49 Vijay Singh Fiji
50 Angelo Que Phillipines
51 Roope Kakko Finland
52 Nicolas Colsaerts Belgium
53 Danny Chia Malaysia
54 Rodolfo Cazaubon Mexico
55 Jhonattan Vegas Venezuela
56 Cheng Tsung Pan Taiwan
57 Carlos Ortiz Mexico
58 Adilson da Silva Brazil
59 Wen-Tang Lin Taiwan
60 Mardan Mamat Singapore

Here’s a look at which countries would be represented and by which players.

United States Australia Ireland Sweden Great Britain Spain
Jordan Spieth
Bubba Watson
Rickie Fowler
Dustin Johnson
Adam Scott
Jason Day
Rory McIlroy
Shane Lowry
Henrik Stenson
David Lingmerth
Justin Rose
Danny Willet
Sergio Garcia
Rafa Cabrera Bello
South Africa Japan Germany Thailand South Korea India
Branden Grace
Louis Oosthuizen
Hideki Matsuyama
Shingo Katayama
Martin Kaymer
Alex Cejka
Thongchai Jaidee
Kiradech Aphibarnrat
Byeong-Hun An
K.T. Kim
Anirban Lahiri
SSP Chawrasia
France Denmark New Zealand Belgium Canada China
Victor Dubuisson
Alexander Levy
Soren Kjeldsen
Thorbjorn Olesen
Danny Lee
Ryan Fox
Thomas Pieters
Nicolas Colsaerts
David Hearn
Graham DeLaet
Wu Ashun
WC Liang
Finland Phillipines Taiwan Argentina Italy Portugal
Mikko Ilonen
Roope Kakko
Miguel Tabuena
Angelo Que
Cheng-Tsung Pan
Wen-Tang Lin
Emiliano Grillo
Fabian Gomez
Francesco Molinari Ricardo Gouveia
Austria Netherlands Zimbabwe Colombia Fiji Malaysia
Bernd Wiesberger Joost Luiten Brendon de Jonge Camilo Villegas Vijay Singh Danny Chia
Mexico Venezuela Paraguay Brazil Singapore
Carlos Ortiz, Rodolfo Cazaubon Jhonattan Vegas Fabrizio Zanotti Adilson da Silva Mardan Mamat


Rank Player Country
1 Lydia Ko New Zealand
2 Inbee Park South Korea
3 Lexi Thompson United States
4 Stacy Lewis United States
5 Sei Young Kim South Korea
6 Ha Na Jang South Korea
7 Brooke M. Henderson Canada
8 Amy Yang South Korea
9 Shanshan Feng China
10 Suzann Pettersen Norway
11 Cristie Kerr United States
12 Anna Nordqvist Sweden
13 Minjee Lee Australia
14 Teresa Lu Taiwan
15 Pornanong Phatlum Thailand
16 Candie Kung Taiwan
17 Karrie Webb Australia
18 Azahara Munoz Spain
19 Mika Miyazato Japan
20 Charley Hull Great Britain
21 Harukyo Nomura Japan
22 Carlota Ciganda Spain Xi Yu Lin China
23 Xi Yu Lin China
24 Sandra Gal Germany
25 Ariya Jutanugarn Thailand
26 Karine Icher France
27 Lee-Anne Pace South Africa
28 Nicole Larsen Denmark
29 Catriona Matthew Great Britain
30 Julieta Granada Paraguay
31 Caroline Masson Germany
32 Pernilla Lindberg Sweden
33 Mariajo Uribe Colombia
34 Gwladys Nocera France
35 Christel Boejion Netherlands
36 Emily Kristine Pedersen Denmark
37 Marianne Skarpnord Norway
38 Alena Sharp Canada
39 Paula Reto South Africa
40 Kelly Tan Malaysia
41 Ursula Wikstrom Finland
42 Klara Spikova Czech Republic
43 Gaby Lopez Mexico
44 Laetitia Beck Israel
45 Noora Tamminen Finland
46 Giulia Sergas Italy
47 Dewi Claire Schreefel Netherlands
48 Stephanie Meadow Ireland
49 Leona Maguire Ireland
50 Christine Wolf Austria
51 Maria Verchenova Russia
52 Fabienne In-Albon Switzerland
53 Giulia Molinaro Italy
54 Alejandra Llaneza Mexico
55 Michelle Koh Malaysia
56 Liv Cheng New Zealand
57 Chloe Leurquin Belgium
58 Aditi Ashok India
59 Paz Echeverria Chile
60 Miriam Nagl Brazil

Here’s a look at which countries would be represented and by which players.

South Korea United States China Norway Sweden
Inbee Park
Ha Na Jang
Sei Young Kim
Amy Yang
Stacy Lewis
Lexi Thompson
Cristie Kerr
Shanshan Feng
Xiyu Lin
Suzann Pettersen
Marianne Skarpnord
Anna Nordqvist
Pernilla Lindberg
Canada Australia Taiwan Spain Japan
Brooke M. Henderson
Alena Sharp
Minjee Lee
Karrie Webb
Teresa Lu
Yani Tseng
Azahara Munoz
Carlota Ciganda
Harukyo Nomura
Mika Miyazato
Great Britain Thailand Germany South Africa France
Charley Hull
Catriona Matthew
Pornanong Phatlum
Ariya Jutanugarn
Sandra Gal
Caroline Masson
Lee-Anne Pace
Paula Reto
Karine Icher
Gwladys Nocera
Denmark Colombia Netherlands Finland Ireland
Nicole Larsen
Emily Kristine Pedersen
Mariajo Uribe Christel Boeljon
Dewi Claire Schreefel
Ursula Wikstrom
Noora Tamminen
Stephanie Meadow
Leona Maguire
Mexico Italy Malaysia New Zealand Russia
Alejandra Llaneza
Gaby Lopez
Giulia Sergas
Giulia Molinaro
Kelly Tan
Michelle Koh
Lydia Ko Maria Verchenova
Switzerland Israel Chile Belgium Austria
Fabienne In-Albon Laetitia Beck Paz Echeverria Chloe Leurquin Christine Wolf
Czech Republic Paraguay Brazil India
Klara Spilkova Julieta Granada Miriam Nagl Aditi Ashok readers: We value your input and welcome your comments, but please be respectful in this forum.